Day 1: Adrift!

My parents left for Japan this morning, so I shifted all my belongings to the Jazz on Amsterdam hostel on West 87th. It doesn’t seem particularly terrible (the reviews on TripAdvisor and Yelp had me bracing for the worst) – I’m currently writing from a four-person bunk-bed room where I’m the sole occupant, which is actually pretty neat. The bathroom’s a bit of a mess (or looks that way because everything is old) but the bed feels comfy and the lockers in the rooms provide a bit of peace of mind. We’ll see how my other two nights go – then I move to the Hostelling International on 103rd, which is apparently a bit nicer and slightly cheaper – I’m currently at about $44 per night here with all taxes and fees included.

I had the chance to take advantage of the Target Free Friday promotion where entrance to the MoMA is free from 4-8pm, and one of the highlights was a new exhibit called “Foreclosed”, where MoMA showed models and dioramas of building complexes designed by architects tasked with envisioning a new, post-subprime-mortgage era. (Photos from yours truly here)

I think tomorrow will be a movie marathon day – I want to see The Hunger Games, 21 Jump Street and Lorax, and I pretty much have nothing better to do on a rainy day. I may also want to go see a musical, and definitely the transmit museum in Brooklyn, and most likely the Hanami Festival early next week. Sadly not many people around to bug and see!

~ by allthenittygritty on March 31, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
