Goooooooooooooooooogle!

Usually news of this kind I’m prone to divulge and propagate among all my networks but sometimes a bit of calm and reflection is needed, particularly since others are having a hard time finding jobs/internships. Gloating isn’t nice, but I also want to write this down for posterity’s sake.

I was just given an offer to take up a position as Associate Product Manager intern at Google! What’s particularly exciting is that it has been a long and arduous road so far (as I am sure it is probably for many who go down this road). I have had countless phone interviews, a total of three separate onsite interviews, and a roller-coaster of emotions along the way. I’d have to say this may very well be one of the few recent opportunities I have had to really work to get to, which makes the acceptance all the more rewarding. The process went something along these lines:

In October of 2008, I applied to be an APM. This was partly thanks to a Swarthmore alum who referred me to their HR personnel. I was told in December that I was not accepted to proceed past the phone interview.

In February of 2009, I reapplied, and was considered for onsite interviews in the Rotational Associate Manager Programme (RAMP). I spent a full day interviewing before being kindly turned down in April.

In February of 2010, I applied to Google Tokyo, as I heard from a classmate that they had an opening. I went through a phone interview and an on-site interview before being turned down in April.

In October of 2011, I reopened my application to Google Tokyo and spent two solid weeks reviewing algorithms. After a couple of tense and sleepless weeks, I was told that I had passed the multiple rounds of interviews! It’s pretty amazing to consider the amount of effort that goes in recruiting an intern: there is a phone interview, an onsite interview (a couple in my case), an essay test, and this all spans several weeks. I had to go through the same process for the fulltime position, so I suspect that this is pretty much standard across all Google employees.

~ by allthenittygritty on January 24, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
