Lots of life in between

Life continues in its weird kind of way, and I feel like I’m increasingly (un)comfortable living this dual presence between work and personal life. It used to be living a dual life between school and at home but I feel that is not quite the case any more. Many things have happened in the time that I last updated this blog, but I feel unless I document it somewhere I will always have this vacant spot in my blog where for fear of misstepping the personal life with work I would decide against writing about what has happened. It’s so easy to pretend that at work there’s nothing much going on otherwise – the conversations about family, relatively quiet evenings and weekends make it really easy to imagine a rather stagnant lifestyle (though I imagine that’s not always the case).

Let’s see:
a) I was accepted into Georgia Tech’s two-year Masters HCI program on March 18.
b) I was given an opportunity to interview at Google shortly thereafter.
c) I was then offered admission into Stanford’s Masters in Computer Science department on March 25th.
d) I wasn’t given a role at Google, unfortunately.
e) I visited Stanford and Georgia Tech (leeching off of the CHI conference there at the same time).

f) I finally decided on Stanford.

In other news:

I got into an accident just around exit 38/39 in Milford, CT. I wasn’t hurt but my beloved 2002 Toyota Echo was no longer.

I ended up having to go through a rather interesting and difficult process of finding another one at around the same price. I am now the owner of a 2004 Kia Optima.

Also a myriad of people I know are now getting married. Andrew, a member of the fire company I was in and a very good friend, is getting hitched in August, and Kate and Sawyer are getting married sometime next year.

~ by allthenittygritty on April 16, 2010.

One Response to “Lots of life in between”

  1. Congrats on getting into Stanford!!! That is AMAZING! I am sure you will do so great there! Man, you are worse than me with changing web-domains, haha. Hope your optima treats you well!

    God Bless!

Leave a Reply

 
